Good links are a big part of your search engine positioning Print

  • 3

How are you promoting your website? An important part of website marketing is getting your site showing up in customer searches - not just being indexed in search engines. To do this you need quality links back to your site from other websites.

How many links do you have to your site today? Try typing this into Google to see how many links you get back: link:www.yourdomainname.com.au

Next see how you rank on your key search terms. What do your customers search for? For example, if you are selling watches your customers may be searching for 'best watch retailers' or 'watches Australia' or by brand. Whatever your customers are searching on, your mission should be to get on to the first page of search results in Google or Yahoo! Australia for that search term.

One option you have for increasing the number of good quality links you have to your site is by adding your website to the number of Australian directories that exist. Some of these are free and others are paid.

What are the best directories to list in?

Here is a list of Australian and New Zealand web directories you can approach to get your website listed. To improve your chances of improving your search engine listings, to list your website with as many of these as you can.

 

Directory Name Submit URL Type
Culture & Recreation http://www.acn.net.au/add/ Free
Clothing Fashion http://www.clothing-fashion.com.au Free, Paid
Shopping Plazza http://www.shoppingplazza.com.au/suggest-listing.php Free
NineMSN Search http://search.ninemsn.com.au/docs/submit.aspx?FORM=WSDD2 Free, Paid
About Australia http://www.about-australia.com/media-centre/ Paid
Anzwers http://www.anzwers.com.au/suggest_site.html Free
Hotfrog http://www.hotfrog.com.au/AddCompany.aspx?step=1 Free
Web Wombat https://trans.webwombat.com.au/ Paid
Anchor Directory http://links.anchor.com.au/user.php Free
Christian Channel http://www.acctv.com.au/links_submit.asp Free
Beyond the Black Stump http://www.blackstump.com.au/ Free
Come On Aussie http://www.comeonaussie.com/add/ Free
Cumulus Directory http://cumuluscomputerservices.com.au/add_link.htm Free
Ezilon Australia http://az.ezilon.com/aunz_url_submission.htm Paid
Our Brisbane http://directory.ourbrisbane.com/directory/begin.htm Free
Web Directory.net.au http://www.webdirectory.net.au/submit.php Paid
NZ Clothing Directory http://www.clothingdirectory.co.nz Free, Paid
Value Rewards http://www.valuerewards.com.au Paid
AU & NZ Directory go to category and click add url Free
Aus Everything http://www.auseverything.com.au/submit-site.htm Free, Paid
Auspage.com http://www.auspage.com/submit.htm Free, Paid
Aussie Local Search http://www.aussielocal.com.au/register/ Free
Aussie Now http://www.aussienow.com.au/add-listing.html Paid
Australia5com http://www.australia5com.com/submitsite.htm Paid
Australian Craft Network http://www.auscraftnet.com.au/advertise.php Paid
Australian House Hunters http://www.australianhousehunters.com.au/shopping/add.php?sid=0 Free
Best Broker http://www.bestbroker.com.au/index.php?d=links&p=reciprocal-links Free
Bugger All http://www.buggerall.com.au/buggerall/redactar.php Free
Dental Search Engine http://www.dentalsearchengine.net.au/free-dental-listing/index.php Free, Paid
Digital Television http://www.digitaltelevision.com.au/links/reciprocal-links.html Free
Directory Australia http://www.directoryaustralia.com/account/login Free
dLook https://www.dlook.com.au/signup/signup-step1.php Free, Paid
Free Ad http://www.freead.com.au/Web_Links-req-AddLink.html Free
Giftware.net.au http://www.giftware.net.au/add_url.shtml Free
Gonzoz http://www.gonzoz.com/contact.asp Free
Guide Australia http://www.guideaustralia.com/submitsite.htm Free, Paid
inPerth http://www.inperth.com.au/forums/viewforum.php?f=14 Free
ITI http://www.iti.com.au/rapid-submit.html Paid
LATON Business Directory http://www.laton.com.au/add/ Free
List Directory http://www.list-directory.info/dir/submit.php Free, Paid
Matilda Search http://www.matildasearch.com/page3.html Paid
Pixelicious http://www.pixelicious.com.au/submit.php Free
Tourism Directory http://www.tourismqueensland.com.au/travel/submit.php Free
Shop Online Australia http://www.plusone.com.au/plusshop/addurl.html Free, Paid
Surf Pacific http://www.surfpacific.net.au/search-engine-listing.php Paid
Tackle Box http://www.tacklebox.com.au/links/directory/ Free
TJA Directory http://www.tja.com.au/contact.asp Paid
Web Directory Australia http://www.web-directory-australia.info/add-url.php Free
Westaustraliaonline http://www.westaustraliaonline.com/cgi-bin/western_australia/add_url.cgi?Category= Free
Yahoo! Australia http://au.search.yahoo.com/freesubmit/submit Free, Paid

 

If there are any directories relevant to your specific industry, we suggest you list with them too.

What else can I do?

  • Approach your suppliers and related businesses to yours and get them to link to you
  • Write 300-500 articles about hot topics in your industry. Publish them on your site to attract people to link to your content. Alternatively, purchase article submission
  • Write a blog with references back to your website. Keep it up-to-date.
  • Create a forum

Thank you to Not Merely Crafts for their update to this list


Was this answer helpful?

« Back

Powered by WHMCompleteSolution


["\r\n